Artsy Spring Break

Spring Break is this coming week (for Purdue students at least) so prepare yourselves for the onslaught of hashtags (#SB2k16, etc.) and beach pictures (usually with a keg or two in the background) if you haven’t been seeing them already.

Personally, I will be heading to Nashville for a few days and then going home for the rest of break (unfortunately no beaches or keggers to post about on my side). This also means that I will not be posting here during SB2k16 but I’ll leave you with some interesting art inspiration to tide you over until I return.

For those who aren’t into the fabled, drunken college spring break or would like to experience some great art on the occasion you’re sober, I’ve decided to spotlight some of the fine art museums in Chicago. Since it’s only a two hour drive from Lafayette and bustling with creativity (and people), it’s a great spot to consider for a spring break trip (did I mention there are bars?).

Chicago

The Art Institute of Chicago (pictured above) is a popular choice of many visitors and it’s easy to see why, as it hosts the largest collection of Impressionist works. I’ve visited the Art Institute a few times (I live near Chicago) and I would highly recommend it to those who haven’t. There’s plenty of mixed media compositions that appeal to all audiences.

NMMA_Video_Feature_0

If you’re looking for an experience off the beaten track, though, Chicago is also home to the National Museum of Mexican Art, exhibiting the historical and creative traits of the city and the Mexican culture. I haven’t been to this museum myself but it seems like a great experience to learn more about art and the Mexican culture.

MCA

The artwork at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago has a more modernized style (see balloon animal sculpture above). I don’t personally like a lot of contemporary art so I won’t be likely to visit this museum any time soon, but if it’s your style this is definitely the place to go. The MCA has many collections  and different programs and exhibitions going on throughout the year.

I hope this summary of some big art museums in Chicago has inspired your next trip and appreciate all the art you come across along the way.

Leave a Reply

